Zanu PF Wins Cowdray Park By-Election In Bulawayo

THE ruling Zanu PF party’s Kidwell Mujuru has won the Cowdray Park by-election in Bulawayo which was had been won by the MDC Alliance in July 2018.

The election had 18 candidates vying for the ward seat, with the Nelson Chamisa-led MDC fielding two candidates. However, ZANU-PF still got more votes than the two MDC-Chamisa candidates combined.

The councilor position for Bulawayo Ward 28 (Cowdray Park) fell vacant in December 2018 following the death of MDC Alliance councilor Hapson Nyasha Ncube.

Cowdray Park by-election results of the top 3 candidates:

  • Kidwell Mujuru (Zanu-PF) 1899
  • Nomagugu Mloyi (MDC Alliance) 1229
  • Collet Ndlovu (MDC-Alliance) 221

It is the first time ZANU-PF wins in Cowdray Park since 2000.

— ZOOMZimbabwe

Back to top button