The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) has gazetted the names of legislators who will replace MDC Alliance Members of Parliament who were recalled by the MDC-T.

All in all a total of 15 senators and proportional representation MPs aligned to MDC Alliance led by Nelson Chamisa fall by the wayside.

Read More: 98% of Govt teachers not working; Leaners not accessing e-learning because of exorbitant data prices

The names which ZEC chair, Justice Priscilla Chigumba gazetted include MDC interim president Thokozani Khupe, her spokesperson Khaliphani Phugeni, Yvonne Winfielda Musarurwa, Lindani Moyo, January Sawuke, Memory Munochinzwa, Lwazi Sibanda, Sipho Mokone, Molly Dorothy Ndlovu, Tamani Moyo, Gertrude Moyo, Piniel Denga, Chief Ndlovu, Nomalanga Khumalo and Teti Chisorochengwe.

Part of the Government Gazette reads:It is hereby notified, in terms of section 39(7)(a) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13], that persons listed in the Schedule nominated by the MDC -T party to fill the vacancies that occurred among the party list members of the National Assembly and the Senate following the recall of the incumbent members by the MDC-T party on the grounds that they had ceased to be members of that party, have been appointed as National Assembly party-list members and Senators respectively with effect from the date of publication of this notice.”

Read More: HIV positive woman breastfeeds friend’s baby, infecting him

This comes as by-elections to replace the recalled legislators and councillors are in limbo after the Health Minister, Vice President Constantino Chiwenga has amended the COVID-19 Regulations Act to block elections.

MDC-T leadership has since March this year been recalling MPs and councillors aligned to MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa.

Source: ZimbabweVoice


Are You Looking for a NEW JOB?

Are you looking for a job or maybe you are already working but want a new job? We have you covered on our Jobs Listings website. We post only genuine jobs and you can apply for free. See All Jobs Here