Kelly Khumalo jealous of Ntokozo winning three SAMA awards

Kelly Khumalo has come out to attack gospel singer Ntokozo Mbambo after the gospel singer walked away with three awards last night at the South African Music Awards.

Ntokozo became the second biggest winner at the SAMA29 held at the SunBet Arena in Pretoria after Kabza De Small who was the biggest winner with four awards in the Best Duo/Group of the Year award, Best Produced Album, Best Amapiano Album and Best Kwaito Album.

Read Also: Kelly Khumalo causes drama over poor sound quality

In a series of posts and replies of X (Twitter) since last night, Kelly seemed to have lost her cool after Ntokozo walked away with Female Artist of the Year, the same category she was nominated in but walked away with nothing in nominations.

The Empini hitmaker was nominated for the Best Afropop Album and Female of the Year but was snubbed in both awards.

The awards were taken by both Ntokozo and Sjava. Ntokozo walked away with Female Artist of The Year, Album of the Year and Best Contemporary Faith Album awards for her album Lavish Worship. In the posts, Kelly implied that the awards were rigged and went on to attack Ntokozo and insulted the organisers of the awards.

“Nontokozo knowns numbers don’t lie, I am not scared of her! Fuseg Samas! Arranged winnings FUSEG!,” she wrote in Zulu.

Ntokozo did not respond to any of Klly’s rants but replied to fans and other artists who congratulated her. In a social media post after being announced the winner, Ntokozo said she felt exceedingly, abundantly blessed for the awards.

” Words FAIL me!!!! I’m in awe of God, His faithfulness, His favour and His love! Thank you Koko_Records NqubekoMbatha and TeekayMthembu and the whole team, thank you @WyzMediaExceedingly, abundantly, above all I can ask or think,’ she wrote.

The full list of winners:

Female Artist of the Year

  • Ntokozo Mbambo-Lavish Worship


Male Artist of the Year

  • AKA -Mass Country

Duo/Group of the Year

  • DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small- Scorpion Kings Live Sun Arena

Album of the Year

  • Lavish Worship- Ntokozo Mbambo

Newcomer of the Year

  • Myztro- Nkwari

Best Amapiano Album

  • KOA II Part 1- Kabza De Small

Best Collaboration

  • AKA featuring Nasty C -Lemons (Lemonade)

Best Hip Hop Album

  • This Is Religion- MashBeatz

Best Traditional Album

  • African Queen- Makhadzi

Beste Pop

  • Jona -Bernice van der Westhuizen

Best Adult Contemporary Album

  • Dark Secrets-Louise Carver

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album

  • Toe Roep Ek Jou Naam-Jan Blohm & Ryno Velvet

Best African Adult Contemporary Album

  • Usiba Lwe Gazi-Nathi

Best Alternative Album

  • On the Romance of Being- Desire Marea

Best African Indigenous Faith Album

  • Emmanuel- JTG Gospel Choir

Best Classical/Instrumental Album

  • Fire Beast- Vox Chamber Choir and Franco Prinsloo

Best Reggae Album

  • Unleashed- Blakka Yut

Best R&B Album

  • But Could The Moments in Between- Ndumiso Manana

Best Dance Album

  • Asante- Morda

Best Rock Album

  • Kanniedood- Francois Badenhorst

Best Afropop Album

  • Isibuko ?” Sjava

Best Traditional Faith Album

  • The Overflow-Dumi Mkokstad

Best Contemporary Faith Album

  • Lavish Worship- Ntokozo Mbambo

Best Jazz Album

  • In the Spirit of Ntu- Nduduzo Makhathini

Best Produced Music Video

  • Shine-Elaine (producer: Shayna Gianelli; director: Jesse Ray Diamond)

Best Produced Album

  • KOA II Part 1- Kabza De Small (producer: Leslie George Theko, Artwork Sound, Da Muziqal Chef, Mdu aka TRP, Stakev, DJ Maphorisa and Felo Le Tee)

Best Engineered Album

  • Mass Country-AKA (engineered & produced by Robin Kohl and Itu)

Best Pop Album

  • Seasons- Lloyiso

Remix of the Year

  • Ndinovalo-Morda

Best Maskandi Album

  • Umqhele Nethawula- Khuzani

Best Kwaito Album

  • Speak n Vrostaan- Kwesta and Kabza De Small

Best Gqom Album

  • Meeting with the King-DJ Lag

Rest of Africa Award

  • Sounds of Peace- Moreira Chonguiça

SAMRO Highest Airplay Composer Award

  • ‘Sete’ ft. Young Stunna & Blxckie

CAPASSO Most Streamed Song Award

  • ‘Sete’ ft. Young Stunna & Blxckie

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Mandoza (posthumous)
  • Ihhashi Elimhlophe
  • Gloria Bosman(posthumous)
  • Pops Mohamed

International Achievement

  • Wouter Kellerman
  • Zakes Bantwini
  • Nomcebo Zikode

Back to top button